American Legion Post 16


Post 16 Installation 2014





Robert H. Burns, American Legion Post 16 Family Installations


The Robert H. Burns, American Legion Family Post 16 of Covington held their Installation of Officers for 2014 – 2015 on Saturday, June 21st at the Post Home.


The program was opened by Post Commander James Lacassagne with the National Colors posted by Post 16 Honor Guard.  An invocation was given by the Post Chaplain Bishop Chopin Cusachs followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Unit 16 Miss Poppy Emma Busby.  Guests were then welcomed by Post 16 Commander.  A break for an outstanding dinner catered by Piccadilly’s restaurant was enjoyed by all in attendance before the formal swearing in ceremony began.


Carol Johansen, Past 6th District and Unit 16 President installed the Auxiliary’s officers:

President May Hartley, 1st Vice Betty McArthur, 2nd Vice Mary Kollister, Treasurer Christina Mehling, Historian Alaina Abdullah, Chaplain Connie Parr, Sgt-At-Arms Angel Sharp, Color Bearers Kelly Parr and Peggy Williams, Executive Committee members Brenda Ogden (3 years), Jane Duracher (2 years) and Marie Duracher (1 year).  Newly installed President May Hartley crowned junior Auxiliary members Aaliyah Abdullah Little Miss Poppy 2014 – 2015 and Emma Busby Miss Poppy 2014 – 2015.

Past Department Commander 2013 Herbie Petite installed the S.A.L.s’ officers:  Commander Ethan Sharp, 1st Vice Dylan McArthur, 2nd Vice Will Busby, Adjutant Danny McArthur, Finance Officer Mike Peats, Sgt-At-Arms Gerald Mott, Color Bearer Dillon Mott, Chaplain Tasso “Tiger” Taylor, Historian Brian Kellum and Legion Advisor Terry Sharp.


Past Department Commander Petite also installed the Legion officers:  Commander H. T. “Terry” Sharp, 1st Vice Mark Herman, 2nd Vice Ray Hartley, Adjutant Roger Bienvenu, Finance Officer Mike Peats, Service Officer Matt Cole, Judge Advocate Lane Carson, Chaplain Bishop Chopin Cusachs, Historian Ray Hartley, Sgt-At-Arms James Livermore, Color Bearers Ralph Barras and Ray Hartley, Executive Committee members Emil Johansen, Charlie Craddock, Roy Kellum, Jim Lacassagne and Stacy Miller.



The Benediction was made by Auxiliary Chaplain Connie Parr.


For more information on the American Legion Post 16 Family’s membership eligibility, their programs and events call (985) 892-0677.